Nuggets' Nikola Jokic wins 2021-22 Kia Most advantageous player award -

Nuggets center Nikola Jokic becomes the 13th participant in NBA history to be named MVP in consecutive seasons.

manhattan – Denver Nuggets core Nikola Jokić has been named the 2021-22 Kia NBA Most advantageous player, the NBA introduced today.

this is the 2d Kia NBA Most effective participant Award for Jokić, who also earned the respect last season.  He turns into the thirteenth participant to win the award in consecutive seasons, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Larry fowl, Wilt Chamberlain, Stephen Curry, Tim Duncan, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Moses Malone, Steve Nash and invoice Russell.

Jokić bought 875 aspects (sixty five first-place votes) from a world panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters.  Philadelphia 76ers core Joel Embiid comprehensive in second location with 706 aspects (26 first-region votes).  Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo comprehensive in third region with 595 points (9 first-region votes), adopted by way of Phoenix Suns safeguard Devin Booker in fourth place with 216 elements and Dallas Mavericks protect Luka Dončić in fifth region with 146 elements.  avid gamers got 10 facets for every first-vicinity vote, seven aspects for each second-region vote, 5 elements for each third-region vote, three points for each and every fourth-region vote and one element for each and every fifth-region vote.

The Nuggets travel 5,600 miles to Sombor, Serbia to present Nikola Jokic together with his 2021-22 Kia MVP award.

here is the primary time that both the right three and 4 of the properly five finishers in balloting for the Kia NBA Most useful participant Award are international avid gamers, with Jokić (Serbia), Embiid (Cameroon) and Antetokounmpo (Greece) comprising the exact three and Dončić (Slovenia) becoming a member of them within the correct 5.  Jokić is the 2d European participant to win the award more than as soon as, becoming a member of Antetokounmpo, the MVP in the 2018-19 and 2019-20 seasons.

In his seventh NBA season, Jokić averaged 27.1 features, 13.8 rebounds, 7.9 assists, 1.47 steals and nil.eighty five blocks per game, atmosphere career highs in each and every class except assists (2nd maximum).  Jokić, who performed seventy four video games and averaged 33.5 minutes, ranked sixth in the NBA in facets, second in rebounds, eighth in assists, 12th steals and 33rd in blocks per game.  He led the league in total rebounds (1,019) and total shielding rebounds (813).  His career-excessive fifty eight.3 container aim percentage changed into eighth highest within the NBA.

Jokić, 27, grew to be the primary player in NBA historical past to record at least 2,000 elements, 1,000 rebounds and 500 assists in a season and the first player to typical at least 25.0 features, 13.0 rebounds and 6.0 assists in a season.  He led the NBA in triple-doubles with 19 and double-doubles with sixty six, both single-season data for a Nuggets player.

Jokić earned his fourth consecutive NBA All-big name alternative and 2nd straight All-celebrity beginning.  He twice changed into named the Kia NBA Western convention player of the Month (January and March/April) and the NBA Western conference player of the Week (Jan. 24 and April four).

try the true moments from this 12 months's Kia Most beneficial player Nikola Jokic's 2021-2022 season with the Denver Nuggets.

in the back of Jokić, the Nuggets (48-34) certified for the NBA Playoffs introduced by means of Google Pixel for the fourth consecutive season.  With Denver trying to clinch a playoff spot late within the season, Jokić averaged 35.7 elements, 16.3 rebounds, 7.four assists and 2.14 steals in his ultimate seven video games.

The Nuggets chosen Jokić with the forty first common decide upon during the 2nd circular of the 2014 NBA Draft.  ultimate season, he became the lowest-drafted player to win the Kia NBA Most useful participant Award with the exception of three-time recipient Moses Malone, who became not selected within the NBA Draft.

Jokić should be offered with a different edition seventy fifth Anniversary commemorative trophy today in get together of the respect, gifted moreover the Kia NBA Most effective player Award trophy, which he will acquire later.  The commemorative trophy, composed of an effective crystal basketball, facets the NBA 75 brand 3D laser etched and suspended within its middle.

The voting results for the 2021-22 Kia NBA Most advantageous participant Award are below.  The balloting was tabulated by way of the independent accounting company Ernst & younger LLP.

A yr-by using-yr list of the Kia NBA Most effective participant Award winners:

• 2021-22 — Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets (voting)

• 2020-21 — Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets (balloting)

• 2019-20 — Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (vote casting)

• 2018-19 — Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (voting)

• 2017-18 — James Harden, Houston Rockets (voting)

• 2016-17 — Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma city Thunder (voting)

• 2015-16 — Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors (voting)

• 2014-15 — Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

• 2013-14 — Kevin Durant, Oklahoma city Thunder

• 2012-13 — LeBron James, Miami warmth

• 2011-12 — LeBron James, Miami warmth

• 2010-11 — Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls

• 2009-10 — LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

• 2008-09 — LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

• 2007-08 — Kobe Bryant, los angeles Lakers

• 2006-07 — Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

• 2005-06 — Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns

• 2004-05 — Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns

• 2003-04 — Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves

• 2002-03 — Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

• 2001-02 — Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

• 2000-01 — Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1999-00 — Shaquille O'Neal, la Lakers

• 1998-ninety nine — Karl Malone, Utah Jazz

• 1997-98 — Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1996-97 — Karl Malone, Utah Jazz

• 1995-96 — Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1994-ninety five — David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs

• 1993-94 — Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets

• 1992-ninety three — Charles Barkley, Phoenix Suns

• 1991-92 — Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1990-ninety one — Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1989-90 — Magic Johnson, los angeles Lakers

• 1988-89 — Magic Johnson, la Lakers

• 1987-88 — Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1986-87 — Magic Johnson, l. a. Lakers

• 1985-86 — Larry chook, Boston Celtics

• 1984-85 — Larry chicken, Boston Celtics

• 1983-eighty four — Larry fowl, Boston Celtics

• 1982-eighty three — Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1981-82 — Moses Malone, Houston Rockets

• 1980-81 — Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1979-eighty — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, los angeles Lakers

• 1978-seventy nine — Moses Malone, Houston Rockets

• 1977-seventy eight — invoice Walton, Portland trail Blazers

• 1976-77 — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, la Lakers

• 1975-seventy six — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, l. a. Lakers

• 1974-75 — Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves

• 1973-74 — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1972-seventy three — Dave Cowens, Boston Celtics

• 1971-72 — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1970-71 — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1969-70 — Willis Reed, ny Knicks

• 1968-sixty nine — Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets

• 1967-sixty eight — Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1966-67 — Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1965-66 — Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1964-65 — invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1963-sixty four — Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals

• 1962-sixty three — bill Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1961-62 — bill Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1960-sixty one — bill Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1959-60 — Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors

• 1958-59 — Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks

• 1957-58 — invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1956-fifty seven — Bob Cousy, Boston Celtics

• 1955-fifty six — Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks

0/Post a Comment/Comments