Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews collects Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award - ESPN

7:36 PM ET
  • Greg WyshynskiESPN

    close Greg Wyshynski is ESPN's senior NHL creator.
  • TAMPA, Fla. -- Toronto Maple Leafs celebrity ahead Auston Matthews amassed the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most useful player and the Ted Lindsay Award because the NHLPA's most staggering participant on the NHL Awards on Tuesday evening.

    Matthews, 24, scored 60 dreams, main the NHL for the second straight season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise list and the single-season list for most dreams by using an American-born participant. He led the NHL in even-energy goals (forty four), goals per online game (0.82) and shots (348). He turned into tied for sixth in points with 106 -- the maximum complete of his profession.

    "I think or not it's a tremendous honor to put on the blue and white, represent the city of Toronto and put on the Maple Leaf every evening," he mentioned. "each time you get your identify etched in historical past, with a firm like that, it's anything I don't take with no consideration."

    Matthews earned 119 first-vicinity votes for the Hart Trophy, which is voted on through the skilled Hockey Writers affiliation (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers turned into 2d in the vote casting, and manhattan Rangers goalie Igor Shesterkin become third.

    Matthews is the first Maple Leafs participant to win the NHLPA's most surprising participant award, which is voted on through the avid gamers and become first passed out in 1971. he is the 2nd American-born participant to win it, joining Chicago Blackhawks superstar Patrick Kane (2015-sixteen). McDavid and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi have been the runners-up for the Ted Lindsay.

    "i am now not going to lie to you, it feels in fact first rate," Matthews observed. "it's particular to have my family here with me. There are lots of outstanding avid gamers in that room."

  • 10dKristen Shilton and Greg Wyshynski

  • 10dESPN

  • 3hESPN body of workers

  • 2 connected

    The closest vote of the night was for the Norris Trophy, given to the NHL's premiere defenseman with the aid of the PHWA. Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar won his first Norris with 1,631 elements within the voting, with ninety two first-region votes. Josi was 2d (1,606) with greater first-region votes than Makar (ninety eight). The facets allocation on the ballot, which ranks the true 5 decisions, is 10-7-5-three-1. Makar became named on 195 ballots, while Josi turned into named on 194.

    Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman was third for the Norris.

    each Hedman and Makar will play in game 4 of the Stanley Cup closing on Wednesday nighttime.

    "I consider like as soon as or not it's all spoke of and accomplished, which you can have fun with [the award]," Makar referred to. "however for me at this time, I've already kinda forgot about it. You must move on. undoubtedly, or not it's bizarre instances with [the awards] being presented earlier than the season's over. As a group, we put ourselves in a good spot at the moment. We just need to capitalize on that."

    Shesterkin won the Vezina Trophy because the league's accurate goaltender, which is voted on by using the NHL's widely wide-spread managers. The different finalists have been runner-up choice Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros of the Predators.

    "It capability a lot for me," noted Shesterkin, who accomplished his third NHL season. "I did not suppose about it when I got here to the NHL. but once in a while you feel possibly I have an opportunity. in the first preseason video game in opposition t the Islanders, I didn't play. One small infant [fan] confirmed me an image with myself and it said, 'Future Vezina Trophy winner.' I think, 'Why no longer?' we have a great team for that."

    Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-in opposition t general and a .935 save percentage in fifty three games, leading the Rangers to a hundred and ten commonplace-season features, the third-maximum total in franchise heritage. He changed into a first-time Vezina nominee and joined Henrik Lundqvist and John Vanbiesbrouck as Rangers who gained the Vezina because the current standards for the award turned into set in 1981-82.

    Some anticipated he could be a unanimous alternative, however Carolina's Frederik Andersen, Tampa Bay's Andrei Vasilevskiy and the manhattan Islanders' Ilya Sorokin additionally had first-place votes.

    Detroit red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider gained the Calder Memorial Trophy for rookie of the yr, as voted on by means of the PHWA. He performed all eighty two games for the red Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per video game, tops amongst newbies. He led all rookie defensemen in features (50), the third-optimum for a first-year blueliner within the final 30 years. He led all inexperienced persons in assists (forty three) and power-play features (21).

    Seider earned a big snicker on the awards show when he mentioned his parents weren't in attendance because they had simply gotten returned from holiday in Croatia.

    "They scheduled their vacation and there have been just no longer any longer days to break out from home," he pointed out. "They in reality watched. Very proud to convey some thing returned [for them]."

    Seider gathered a hundred and seventy first-vicinity votes. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim ducks ahead who created a few highlight-reel goals this season, changed into second with 15 first-location votes. Maple Leafs rookie Michael Bunting, who changed into splendid for being 26 years ancient, was third in the balloting.

    Julien BriseBois of the Lightning, Chris Drury of the Rangers and Joe Sakic of the Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2021-22 Jim Gregory usual supervisor of the year Award. The winner may be introduced on the NHL draft next month in Montreal.

    The NHL Awards have been held at Armature Works on the off day between video games three and 4 of the Stanley Cup ultimate.

    The league in the past announced several awards throughout the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL leadership Award: Anze Kopitar, la Kings; Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Flames; bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Carey expense, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O'Ree group Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore. Frank J. Selke Trophy for most fulfilling protective forward: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; girl Byng Memorial Trophy for most gentlemanly player: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for neighborhood provider: P.ok. Subban, New Jersey Devils.

    0/Post a Comment/Comments